Logo COMINAUV - Amethyste et diamant

compagnie des
minéraux d'auvergne

mountains

A young company, with modern ideas, facing a strong local, cultural, historical and technical heritage to put back on the list of our national skills: this is what gave birth to the COMINAUV! We want to relaunch the extraction and carving of French minerals, and it begins with our project of the first modern amethyst quarry in metropolitan France. Welcome to our adventure.


About us

The company

The Compagnie des Minéraux d'Auvergne (or COMINAUV) was created in March 2018 at the instigation of Nicolas LEGER and Mathieu MOULIN. Its goals are, on one hand, relaunching the extractive techniques and the French lapidary art over different minerals present in the local underground, and on the other hand, to contribute to the improvement and spreading of scientific knowledge about minerals. Its missions therefore include prospecting, extracting, carving/cutting and marketing of mineral materials, as well as any scientific and cultural activity related to minerals. It started its activities in the Auvergne region, rich in mineral resources, with a first amethyst quarry project in the Puy-de-Dôme county.

Our values

Like many modern companies, we wanted to define a small number of moral values that influence our decisions. However, unlike large companies, in which values are only theoretically applied, our values play an important part in our decisions (with all the disadvantages that this generates): Honesty, Efficiency, Respect, and Local Involvement. These values are reflected in various domains of the company, as well as in the design of our projects.

The founders

We are currently two to manage this company, with our own knowledges and resources:

  • Nicolas LEGER, 44 years old, Gemologist and Lapidary, President of COMINAUV;
  • Mathieu MOULIN, 31 years old, Engineer-Geologist, General Manager of COMINAUV;

However, we would like to mention Christian GESLIN and Valérie AUBARD, and thank them for their support and participation during the first two years of the company.

Our projects

The “St Joseph des Mines de Poux” amethyst quarry

This is the first project based on our “micro-quarry” concept: a site of less than 3 ha, with optimized extracted resources, processing techniques and environmental impacts. The Auvergne amethyst was extracted punctually at least from the 17th to the beginning of the 20th century, for its intense purple color. It was one of the imperial and religious gemstones, and now we want to give it back its place among the fine minerals of the world. Our administrative authorization is currently being examined.

The lapidary workshop

We have the ambition to recreate a modern place dedicated to lapidary art in all its forms (cleaning, trimming, rolling, polishing, cutting, engraving, faceting, etc.) in Auvergne, in a logic of resilience and local involvement. Once built, this workshop will become the company's main site. It should rise from the ground 3 to 4 years after the quarry opening.

What will be produced

Other minerals

Once the “micro-quarry” model has been mastered with the “St Joseph des Mines de Poux” site, we plan to apply it to other local minerals (such as sapphire, fluorite, etc.). We will thus have a representative panel of the diversity of Auvergne stones at first, and why not of the whole of France thereafter...?


They talk about us



Contact

Email: contact@cominauv.fr
Address: 9 place Saint-Paul,
63500, Issoire

Logo COMINAUV - Amethyste et diamant

compagnie des
minéraux d'auvergne

mountains

Une entreprise jeune, des idées modernes, face à un patrimoine naturel, culturel, historique et technique fort à remettre sur la carte de nos compétences nationales : voici ce qui a fait naître la COMINAUV ! Nous voulons relancer l'extraction et la transformation des minéraux français, et cela commence avec le projet de la première carrière d'améthyste moderne en métropole.
Bienvenue dans notre aventure.


A propos de nous

L'entreprise

La Compagnie des Minéraux d'Auvergne (ou COMINAUV) a vu le jour en Mars 2018 sous l'impulsion de Nicolas LEGER et Mathieu MOULIN, avec pour objectif d'une part de relancer le savoir-faire extractif et l'art lapidaire français au travers de différents minéraux présents sur notre territoire, et d'autre part de contribuer au développement et à la diffusion des connaissances scientifiques sur les minéraux. Ses missions englobent donc la prospection, l'extraction, le traitement et la commercialisation de matières minérales, ainsi que toute activité scientifique et culturelle liée aux minéraux. Elle démarre ses activités en Auvergne, région riche en ressources minérales, avec un premier projet de carrière d'améthyste dans le Puy-de-Dôme (63).

Nos valeurs

Comme bon nombre d'entreprises modernes, nous avons souhaité définir un petit nombre de valeurs morales influant sur les décisions de l'entreprise. Cependant, contrairement aux grandes entreprises au sein desquelles les valeurs ne sont que théoriquement appliquées, nos valeurs prennent une part importante dans nos décisions entrepreneuriales (avec tous les inconvénients que cela génère): Honnêteté, Efficacité, Respect, et Implication Locale. Ces valeurs se traduisent dans les divers domaines de compétence de l'entreprise, ainsi que dans la conception de nos projets.

Les fondateurs

Nous sommes actuellement deux à porter cette entreprise, avec nos connaissances et nos propres ressources:

  • Nicolas LEGER, 44 ans, Gemmologue et Lapidaire, Président de la COMINAUV.
  • Mathieu MOULIN, 31 ans, Ingénieur-Géologue, Directeur Général de la COMINAUV

Nous souhaitons toutefois mentionner Christian GESLIN et Valérie AUBARD, et les remercier pour leur soutien et leur participation durant les deux premières années de l'entreprise.

Nos projets

La carrière d'améthyste de St Joseph des Mines de Poux

Il s'agit du premier projet basé sur notre concept de «micro-carrière»: un site de moins de 3 ha, avec une optimisation des ressources extraites, des techniques de transformation et des impacts sur l'environnement. L'améthyste d'Auvergne a été extraite ponctuellement au moins depuis le XVIIe jusqu'au début du XXe siècle pour son intense couleur violette. Elle faisait partie des pierres précieuses impériales et religieuses, et nous voulons à présent lui rendre sa place parmi les minéraux du monde. La demande d'autorisation administrative est actuellement en cours d'instruction.

L'atelier de transformation

Nous avons l'ambition de recréer un lieu moderne dédié à l'art lapidaire sous toutes ses formes (nettoyage, façonnage, roulage, polissage, taille, gravure, facettage, etc.) en Auvergne, dans une logique de résilience et d'implication locale. Une fois construit, cet atelier deviendra le site principal de la compagnie. Il devrait voir le jour 3 à 4 ans après la carrière.

Les produits visés

Les autres minéraux

Une fois le modèle de «micro-carrière» maîtrisé avec le site de St Joseph des Mines de Poux, nous prévoyons de l'appliquer à d'autres minéraux locaux (notamment saphir, fluorine …). Nous pourrons ainsi disposer d'un panel représentatif de la diversité de l'Auvergne dans un premier temps, et pourquoi pas de la France entière par la suite…?


Ils parlent de nous



Contact

Adresse: 9 place Saint-Paul,
63500, Issoire